Homemade Soft Tortillas

Posted on Updated on

This post is especially for my beautiful friend Emily. She’s a personal hero of mine.

Sometimes, meal planning in our house is like the Food Network show Chopped. Ok, I have ground beef, and, um, cheese, jelly beans and maybe some lettuce and I have half an hour. What can I make? Tacos. But, oh, I don’t have shells or taco seasoning. No problem! Here is a great (and easy) recipe for taco shells. Trust me, they are easy.

The dough comes together nicely and is a little bit sticky.
IMG_20151104_1638513_rewindIMG_20151104_1639399_rewind

I cut it into pieces before I roll them into balls.

IMG_20151104_1642157_rewind

Cat rolled them out with my non-stick rolling pin. I know there is a great tortilla press that I can purchase.  Maybe I’ll put that on my Christmas list. 😉

IMG_20151104_1646030_rewind

I warmed up my cast iron skillet and popped the expertly rolled tortillas on for a few seconds.

Then, I place them in a damp towel.

IMG_20151104_1701369_rewind

My family likes them way better than the store bought variety. 🙂

Oh, and if you’d like to make your own taco seasoning, I use the recipe here.

PS. I ate the jelly beans while making the tortillas. You know, ’cause that’s great for me…

2 thoughts on “Homemade Soft Tortillas

    Emily said:
    November 8, 2015 at 6:47 am

    1. Oh please. Hero?
    2. I think we are having tacos this week!

      Pinning Summer responded:
      November 9, 2015 at 11:54 am

      Homeschooling 4 amazing kids, volunteering all the time, helping friends left and right? Yup. Hero.

Leave a Reply

