My New Pet: Sourdough Starter

Posted on

I’ve wanted to try to make my own sourdough for a long time now, but, quite frankly, the whole “starter” issue freaked me out a little. Having a bowl of something in my kitchen that would grow only if I fed it sounded a little too Little Shop of Horrors to me, ya know?

But I tried it anyway.

There are many, many pins out there that can help. To read the article that I followed click here. It has the measurements, the times and some other interesting stuff about the starter.

While on this journey, I learned a lot: some of it was good and some of it was sticky…

This is my largest mason jar.

DSC_0331‘Cause you can’t put it in metal

or plastic.

There are specific temps

DSC_0332

‘Cause if it’s too hot,

you’ll kill the yeast.

Nobody wants dead yeast on their hands.

Or, really any yeast on their hands.

DSC_0334

I mixed the starter,

covered it loosely and went to the grocery store

for my weekly hunting and gathering trip.

When I came home,

I saw this

DSC_0335

Apparently, I need a larger jar.

I didn’t have one.

So, I trapped it in an old crock pot.

Ha! Try to get out of that!

DSC_0337

It tried.

DSC_0345

After the appropriate waiting time,

I fed my starter and used a cup of the

foaming mixture to make my first sourdough bread.

Tomorrow: Sourdough Bread Update

🙂 Spoiler: it’s good.

Leave a Reply

