Chocolate Muffins

Posted on

AKA: Breakfast for my Teenager

Since Cat needs to be out the door at 7AM, she is usually the first to rise. I am not a morning person. I usually kiss her goodbye and tell her to have a good day, but when she wakes up at Dark O’ Thirty to take a shower and do all of her aesthetic maneuvers, I  am still sleeping.

A formal breakfast is not on tap and Cat just isn’t a breakfast fan. It takes some doing to remind her to “eat something!” before she goes. Sometimes, “something” turns into “anything”. We’ve resorted to gentle reminders of what “breakfast” should look like.

DSC_1059

My mom gave us some treats

when last we saw her.

They all say “Not Breakfast!”

I can’t blame her,

I’ve been known to sneak a piece of brownie

in the morning simply because it’s easy.

Who likes to hassle with food

first thing in the morning?

So, when I saw this protein-packed

muffin (click here for the recipe),

I knew we’d have to give it a go.

The batter was beautiful and tasted great.

DSC_1058

The muffins did not rise, of course,

but finished off with a nice sheen.

DSC_1063

I left the bait for the teenager.

DSC_1062

And she took it.

I think maybe, she would have liked

them better with a chunky peanut butter

because the texture was very, very smooth,

almost like a souffle.

We will definitely be making these again.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Muffins

    Don said:
    September 4, 2014 at 11:08 am

    Wow ! Must be a glimpse of breakfast in heaven !

      Pinning Summer responded:
      September 4, 2014 at 1:58 pm

      Are you a big chocolate fan? I didn’t know!

Leave a Reply

