Cereal Box Magazine Organizer

Posted on Updated on

Nothing reminds me how craft-challenged I am like glue and duct tape. As I sit here with sticky hands, I’d like to recount how I spent the last hour in my kitchen…

Once upon a time, I saw this gorgeous upcycled cereal box picture and pinned it to my Pinterest board. I read the directions and thought “This looks easy!” Forgetting that crafts are my kryptonite, I proceeded to gather the materials telling 007, “We’re going to have fun!”

I bought this snazzy super hero themed scrapbook paper

a while ago when it was half off.

I have various plans for it’s contents.

DSC_0749

We’ve been stock-piling cereal boxes

because there are tons of

cool pins about how to reuse them.

This is just one.

DSC_0753

We started by cutting the top of the box.

DSC_0755

Easy-peasy.

We cut a diagonal line.

DSC_0757

DSC_0758

And then cut patterns in scrap book paper,

construction paper and felt.

007 likes green a lot.

DSC_0761

Here’s where things got sticky.

The construction paper boded to

the adhesive spray immediately which, you would think,

would be a good thing, but, you see,

there was no time to maneuver the paper on the inside.

Wherever it stuck was where it was staying,

including my hands.

DSC_0762

I continued to paper the inside of the box

and then moved to the outside of the box.

DSC_0764

All of this took about 10 minutes.

And then, came the duct tape.

I really should have bought pretty washi tape,

but it’s raining outside and I wanted to

work with what I had.

What I had was silver duct tape.

DSC_0766

Overall, I was happy with the way it turned out.

DSC_0767

It’s not perfect, but

my little super hero loved it.

Because all super heroes need a place to store

their Lego Mags.

DSC_0769

Where nobody can see them.

DSC_0768

          18 more pins to go

after I take the glue off of my hands…

Leave a Reply

