Pickles

Posted on Updated on

Cat and Papa love pickles so, I decided to try my hand at pickling. This being my first attempt ever at pickling, I used two different recipes for dill pickles and conducted a blind taste test to see which one my family preferred.

I started with cucumbers given to me by some friends

DSC_0659

and cut them into spears.

DSC_0661

For Pickle Recipe A, I used pickling spices and dill seeds along with vinegar, garlic, water sugar and salt.

DSC_0667

DSC_0669

Then, I prepared Pickle Recipe B  which required boiling the brine (vinegar, water, salt and sugar) and adding some fresh dill and garlic to the jars.

This dill was donated by my friend Bella Principessa.

DSC_0664

DSC_0665

After the brine cooled, I poured it into the jars, sealed them and popped them into the fridge.

DSC_0666

After four days…

DSC_0696

We were ready for our taste test.

DSC_0697

I noticed immediately that “Recipe A”

was more brown and the brine was cloudy in the jar,

while “Recipe B” still resembled an unaffected cucumber.

DSC_0698

DSC_0699

My contestants obediently closed their eyes

and judged the specimens by smell,

DSC_0700

crunch,

DSC_0701

and taste.

DSC_0704

The winner?

DSC_0707

Though both had the desired crunch and smell,

B was by far the favorite  for taste.

DSC_0706

They even measured it against store bought pickles.

DSC_0708

And it still came out on top.

I think we’ll be planting dill in our garden next year…

right next to the cucumbers.

This experiment counts as two pins.

20 pins to go, friends.

Leave a Reply

