Corn Husking

Posted on Updated on

I hate  shucking corn. HATE it.

This is one of the few things Mama requires me to do in the kitchen, because she loves me, and now I have a new way of shucking that is much easier. Hopefully this will help other shucking haters out there.

DSC_0544

First I put these two ears of corn in the microwave for three minutes.

 

After being thoroughly steamed within their green cocoon, the ears needed to be chopped on the opposite end that one would normally start shucking. (not the hairy side) DSC_0549Then, I made a slit toward the bottom.

DSC_0548

 

Unfortunately, I could not merely squeeze the corn out like the pin described…however it was much easier to slide the leaves off of it, and the silky strings came right along with them!

 

 

All that was needed was to boil them a bit longer and they were ready to be served. corn

Leave a Reply

