Homemade Marshmallows

Posted on

I’ve been wanting to make homemade marshmallows for a long time now. What better night to make them than our last camp fire before Cat goes overseas?

I was making dinner and these marshmallows in the kitchen while Cat was giving last minute family haircuts in the dining room.  In between there, I wasn’t able to take pictures of every step. You can go here for great instructions.

Sugar, water and corn syrup.

DSC_0355

Water and unflavored gelatin.

DSC_0356

This is what the sugar, water and corn syrup

mixture looks like when it’s almost

ready to be removed from the heat.

DSC_0357

When you mix the gelatin, sugar and egg whites all together,

you get something that looks like marshmallow fluff.

Cat was excited.

DSC_0360

I put this pretty cloud in a long glass pan

and let it sit out for a while.

When I took it out…

DSC_0364

It was beautiful.

I cut it into  squares and

dusted the squares with powdered sugar.

DSC_0367

We toasted them.

DSC_0370

They were fluffy, smooth and spread easily.

I like my s’mores with a small Twix bar.

I had to run around the block after this treat.

DSC_0375

 But it was worth it.

DSC_0371

These were the BEST

marshmallows

we’ve ever eaten.

37 pins to go.

Leave a Reply

