Alphabet Photography

Posted on Updated on

There are some really neat pieces of art using somewhat pedestrian objects that look like letters. I really liked the look of them. As I was thinking about words we could spell, I thought about where I would find the “letters”. I wanted our letters to not only make a word, but also to be a reminder of a specific place.

As a family of history lovers, we enjoy Washington DC and Philadelphia, but no place has captured our hearts like Colonial Williamsburg in Virginia. This past spring, we took 007 and he had a blast.

DSC_0585

He got to pretend that he was a spy.

DSC_0451

While we were walking around, learning about Colonial times, we were also on a scavenger hunt to find letters to spell out a word.

When we came home, we bought some plain black frames and got our pictures printed at Rite Aid. (It’s cheaper than using our own ink and you get that pretty glossy look.)

The result…

hope

HOPE.

The word has been my anthem for the last year.

My favorite Emily Dickinson poem reads

“‘Hope’ is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all – “
I like that word.

Β hope side

Art created from things that we would otherwise overlook.

This may be my favorite so far.

46 pins to go!

4 thoughts on “Alphabet Photography

    ionedar said:
    July 10, 2014 at 5:49 am

    Definitely my favorite, so far, as well. Thanks so much for sharing it!

      Pinning Summer responded:
      July 10, 2014 at 10:26 am

      I knew you would like it. πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting and for being such a loyal fan. πŸ˜‰

    thegangsmomma said:
    July 10, 2014 at 9:42 am

    BEAUTIFUL! I love it. You’ve got my wheels spinning now…..

      Pinning Summer responded:
      July 10, 2014 at 10:25 am

      Thanks πŸ™‚ This would be a fun family project for the gang. I can’t wait to see what you all do.

Leave a Reply

