In Defense of “Pinterest Moms”

Posted on Updated on

Disclaimer: This is not a pin. This is a response.

Lately, I’ve been reading some articles. You know, the “1,102 Things You Should Never Do” and the “Everybody Should Parent Like Me and If You Don’t You’re Messing Your Kids Up” ones that leave you feeling like you should obsess over each interaction with every human being. Ironically, many of them mention the label “Pinterest Moms” with disdain, harping that those moms are making others feel inadequate while giving their kids a warped sense of reality.

Wow. Really? Following Pinterest and doing crafts with my kids is prepping them for an unattainable lifestyle? I had no idea that Pinterest was the enemy!

I like Pinterest.

And this is why…

-Between our homemade furniture, decor, food and beauty products, Pinterest ideas have saved us tons of cash. We look for things that enhance our lifestyle, not change it to put on airs.

-Without Pinterest inspirations, I would never have attempted sewing, woodworking or my many painting projects. I just did not have the confidence. Also, I must say that my kids are learning some amazing skills because they see mom and dad doing it. We’re cultivating a “We can do it!” atmosphere.

-Doing these challenges has actually helped me to get over my perfectionist tendencies. Some projects don’t turn out quite the way you expected them to come out. Sometimes, it is what it is and that is good enough.

-Pinterest has helped my become more organized and more efficient at doing tasks, which means that I get to spend more time having fun and less time doing chores.

And, the most important:

-Since we pledged to do a pin a day during the summer, I have noticed my family grow closer together. We look for projects to do with one another AND we ENJOY it!

But it’s not for everyone and I get that. I’m glad, actually. It’s exciting to talk with people who live life differently than we do, in whatever capacity. I’m sure you and I are a lot alike, we may just arrive at our goals in different ways.

I like different.

I like celebrating things.

I like doing things with my family.

I love making memories,

lists,

new foods.

I’m not perfect at it, but I sure do have fun. It’s who I am and the ideas on Pinterest and the ideas from friends of mine inspire me, they don’t make me feel inadequate. I’m the only one who can do that.

You, the mom who lovingly bought cookies for a school function, I promise, I am not judging you. I buy cookies too. And you, Mom who forgot to bring something because you’re swamped right now, I’m not judging you either. I know that you love your kid just as much as I love mine. So, y’all, please don’t judge me if I want to bake something because I like to bake. Ok? Can we be friends? Good. I’m glad.

So, with a smile on my face, a sock bun in my hair and a bedazzled mason jar held high, I proudly shout that “I am a Pinterest Mom!”

đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

