DIY Spa Salt

Posted on Updated on

I feel like this past winter was the longest I’d ever endured. It wasn’t just the cold or the snow it was the perpetual dreariness that even I, the skilled Pollyanna of my tribe, had a hard time putting one foot in front of the other. So, I’ve spent much of this spring trying to, not only replenish my soul, but also to figure out ways to avoid the dreaded Seasonal Affective Disorder  next year.

Here’s what I’ve found: many of us are magnesium depleted. Magnesium helps to raise serotonin levels. Low serotonin levels can cause headaches, inability to deal with stress, depression, weight gain, etc.

I know, what a downer. But see, Epsom Salts have magnesium. I just used to think that it soothed my muscles to soak in a bath of Epsom Salts, but, as it turns out, the benefits are even greater. Also, as it turns out, using essential oils and the salt can be an even bigger health boost.

So, off to Pinterest I went to find a good recipe.

To my delight, one of my findings was a DIY fizzing bath salt.

4 ingredients: epsom salt, body wash, coconut oil and lavender essential oil

I modified the original recipe, just a bit.

6 cups of epsom salt

3/4 cup of unscented body wash

1 tbsp coconut oil

5 drops of lavender essential oil

I chose not to use the originally prescribed purple food coloring, simply because I did not know if it would discolor my tub. It would have looked very pretty, though. Maybe I’ll try it with a small batch sometime. Regardless…

DSC_0343

Mixing the ingredients in a bowl reminded me of when we made ice cream from the snow this winter.

DSC_0345

I spread the mixture out on a baking sheet and left it out on the counter for an entire day. You know what? It still looked like snow. It didn’t crystallize at all, but I think that’s because I used a moisturizing body wash. No matter, I put it in a cute mason jar and headed to the bathroom.

When I poured the prescribed half a cup into the warn running water, it didn’t bubble or fizz. I was okay with that because I’m not a huge fan of bubbles in the bath and that’s why I used a body wash that didn’t lather.  But maybe YOU like bubbles. That’s just fine. We can still be friends. If you want the bubbles, then I would suggest using a body wash that lathers.

The verdict: I enjoyed my relaxing, fragrant, moisturizing bath. I recommend this pin.

73 pins to go.

2 thoughts on “DIY Spa Salt

    Emily Bowman said:
    June 13, 2014 at 8:09 am

    I don’t think the good coloring would stain your tub. I used it all the time for bath paints and it never stained.

      Pinning Summer responded:
      June 13, 2014 at 1:04 pm

      Thanks so much, Em. If you say it’s okay, then I’ll give it a go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

