Door Shelf

Posted on Updated on

For our very first post of 2014, we decided to do one that has been on our Pinterest board for a long time. It’s not that it was difficult, it’s that we couldn’t quite find the right old door for our door shelf project until…

…my friend Sporty Spice put this little guy up for sale on our local trade and barter site.

DSC_0346

We paid Sporty $15 bucks for this solid door and started the transformation.

DSC_0385

We wiped it down and painted it white.

DSC_0393

DSC_0402

I wanted it to look old and a little beat up, so I painted it lightly.

DSC_0405

Papa measured and cut the door in half.

DSC_0633

Β (That’s the back.)

DSC_0637

Papa is very helpful. πŸ™‚

Read: I could not do any of this stuff with out Papa.

DSC_0640

Beautiful!

DSC_0652

Papa used his new nail gun to set the sides in place.

It scares me. Like, as much as the nail gun scares me.

Later on, he’ll use the drill to make sure that it’s secure.

DSC_0641

Next, he cut the shelves.

DSC_0657

He’s amazing.

DSC_0661

He made braces and secured the shelves.

We carried it upstairs. I clapped and jumped up and down.

This is where I keep tea.

DSC_0665

A treasured gift from my (now gluten free) Pixie friend.

DSC_0666

Our door shelf happily resides in the corner of our dining room.

DSC_0662

One pin down and 74 to go.

It’s going to be another productive busy fun summer!

4 thoughts on “Door Shelf

    k hambright said:
    June 12, 2014 at 8:33 am

    OH MY WORD!!!!! I love this!!!!!
    Fantastic job!!! Soooooo am I Sporty Spice? Because if so I love that too!!! And if I’m not then I’m jealous of the name! Lol.

      Pinning Summer responded:
      June 12, 2014 at 8:47 am

      Thanks!! Of course you’re Sporty Spice. πŸ˜‰ I’m so glad that you like your name.

    ionedar said:
    June 12, 2014 at 11:47 am

    Great job – it’s a-door-able!

Leave a Reply

