Days Until Sign

Posted on Updated on

It’s been a busy summer here at the “Pinning” household.  The past 62 days have been filled with statements like, “Ooh, check this out!  We can make this!” and “So I went to the thrift store today because…”

All for the adventure called Pinning Summer.

I am Papa.

In past posts I have been known to express grief and dread about the adventure that was begun by my dear wife and Cat.  But the truth is — and I say this emphatically — it was a fun adventure.  It was a catalyst for us to fix some things around the house (see this post ) and it was good reason for me to get out some power tools (especially the staple gun, which technically is not a power tool, but it scared Mama nonetheless).

So, it seemed fitting for me to post this last one.  It required tools, exactness, and anticipation for the future (which is not normally one of my strengths… hey I’m growing!!).

 

This final pin is taken from an idea found here, and I have to say, I like it a lot.

Start with a nice piece of wood that was re-purposed from an old cabinet

DSC_0995

and paint it with black primer.  Sand it lightly and make it smooth.

DSC_0996

Then give it a couple coats of a very fine chalkboard paint (not homemade, sorry).

DSC_0998

Now, get the tape measure out and find the middle so I can be exact with the placement of letters.

I am not one to look at things that are off-kilter without twitching.

DSC_1002

Wait for every other letter do dry so I can paint the others and finally…

wait

for

it…

 

Count the days until the adventure begins again!

DSC_1007

Grab some chalk and keep track of how many days until your next big thing.

Although there are 0 pins left for the summer,
we hope that the journey was fun for everyone and inspired you
to maybe try something that you’ve never tried before.

You never know what you may be really good at!

4 thoughts on “Days Until Sign

    Doreen said:
    August 31, 2013 at 8:06 am

    I’m sad to see the end of your thoroughly enjoyable Pin-fest. I enjoyed the variety of projects and it was great to see every family member get in on the fun – even Seamus! Looking forward to the next installment; hoping you won’t really make me wait 280 days!

    PS – Props to Papa for repurposing another part of that cabinet – I was tickled to see it!

    ionedar said:
    August 31, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Thanks so much for sharing your adventure with us! I enjoyed each step along the way. It was fun to see which projects were chosen, how different members were involved, and how it turned out. What a wonderful summer of memories! I can’t wait to see what the next season has in store for all of you!

    Malia said:
    September 1, 2013 at 8:53 am

    So, somehow I missed the memo until 2 days ago that this is what was meant by “Pinning Summer.” Nevertheless, I read every single blog post in one day, and I’ve got to say that it was probably better this way. There’s no way I could have done so many projects with my two kiddos, and I would have just ended up being jealous all summer! As it was, I was inspired to try and make this happen some day in the future, maybe when OUR youngest is 6. Seems much more doable then. Thanks for sharing…I look forward to the next adventure your family shares with us, whatever that may be!

    Top 10 From 2013: #1 | Pinning Summer said:
    June 11, 2014 at 7:17 am

    […] Days Until Sign […]

Leave a Reply

