Pillowcase Tote

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been procrastinating.

Maybe if I leave all of those sewing pins until the end, they’ll actually just go away.

They didn’t.

Last night, I got the machine out and tackled the “easy” pillowcase tote. We actually started this one a month ago, but when I messed up the pattern, I put it away. So, not only am I going to show you my first solo sewing project, I’m going to show you my first messed up solo sewing project:

the tote bag that only a mother could love.

We can do it!

DSC_0889

I bought two pillowcases at my favorite thrift store for a dollar.

I liked the pattern and they were a dollar.

DSC_0891

We took out all the seams so that we basically had a long piece of fabric.

Then, we cut it into triangles.

Here’s where I messed up:

I cut all of the triangles in the same direction and

because the print of the fabric was only on one side,

my completed bag has some sides that are not printed.

Bummer.

That’s when I put it away.

But after a while, it began to call to me and I decided that even if it looked funky, that I would finish it.

After all, a bag doesn’t have to be pretty

to carry my produce from the farmer’s market,

now does it?

You can find the rest of the directions here.

I didn’t take very detailed pictures, mostly because

I was just trying not to sew myself to the bag.

DSC_0892

My first seam ever.

DSC_0893Making the bottom sides of the bag.

DSC_0895

My gracious model.

DSC_0894

     And there it waits: a useful thing. 🙂

7 more pins.

3 thoughts on “Pillowcase Tote

    Janelle Barnes said:
    August 24, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    you made me laugh – “A useful thing”! LOL It looks great. and I can hear you say, “Because I liked the pattern…and it was a dollar”! You are doing awesome stuff! I am “living” through you with the crafty stuff this summer! Have not done much of that this summer, but you are inspiring me to do it at another time in life! 🙂

      Daughter of Encouragement responded:
      August 25, 2013 at 12:14 pm

      🙂 Janelle, I’m glad that you are inspired. Hopefully, you’ll see some things here that you can tuck away for when little miss is older.

    Fabric Covered Box | Pinning Summer said:
    June 21, 2014 at 5:38 am

    […] may remember when I made a reversible bag that did not reverse or when I sewed my first seam for a pillow case tote. Some people are good at sewing. I am not one of those people. But what I lack in skill, I make up […]

Leave a Reply

