Fresh Tomato Sauce

Posted on Updated on

This summer, along with our blog, we’ve been growing quite a bit out in our garden. Today, I harvested a nice tiny crop of Roma tomatoes and with an assist from the fresh basil growing in the front of the house, decided to make sauce. It was simple and, might just be, my favorite sauce ever. (Sorry, Mom.)

DSC_0825

Cat’s out babysitting tonight, so we only needed a few.

DSC_0829

I cut a little x on the bottom of each tomato.

DSC_0827

So that, when I put them in the boiling water,

the skins start separating all by themselves.

In a dutch oven, I heated up a tablespoon of olive oil

and two cloves of garlic.

DSC_0831

Then, I added the skinned, chopped tomatoes

with a teaspoon or two of our fresh basil,

a bit of salt and a little bit of sugar.

It smelled like summertime.

The soon to be sauce simmered for 25 or 30 minutes.

DSC_0834

I used an immersion blender to make it smooth.

After changing the break pads on our car,

Papa was happy to hear the dinner bell a-ringin’.

He was even happier to smell the aroma of fresh tomato sauce,

quickly smothered his pasta in it and added some cheese.

I like making him smile.

DSC_0840

This one made me smile, too.

Β Β Β  My self-esteem needed a successful pin after the last two. πŸ˜‰

10 more pins, y’all!

7 thoughts on “Fresh Tomato Sauce

    shawnboy777 said:
    August 21, 2013 at 8:22 am

    I concur… possibly the best sauce ever!! Next year we grow more roma tomatoes. This stuff needs to be canned and used through the winter. SO GOOD!!!

    Elisa said:
    August 21, 2013 at 8:27 am

    I’m so glad you liked the sauce! I’m sure your garden fresh ingredients made it even better. Good luck on the rest of your pinning challenge!

      Daughter of Encouragement responded:
      August 21, 2013 at 9:51 am

      Thanks so much for taking the time to visit, Elisa and thank YOU for such a lovely recipe!

    ionedar said:
    August 21, 2013 at 10:22 am

    meraviglioso!

    Top 10 From 2013: #3 | Pinning Summer said:
    June 9, 2014 at 6:28 am

    […] peanut butter. For him, I just save a bit of pasta and chicken and toss it with some leftover tomato sauce. Oh my, did I slip another one in there? πŸ˜‰ It was a delicious […]

Leave a Reply

