Spoon Rings

Posted on

Today, we made a ring.

TheSmile02

Not that kind.

We get to keep this one.

Cat and I saw this pin a few weeks ago and knew that we HAD to do it.

DSC_0761

I stopped by my local thrift haunt and scored a bag of fun silverware

for 52 cents.

Yup.

This pin cost me 52 cents.

Now, I went into this project knowing that it would be a bit difficult.

The tutorial clearly states to use sterling silver.

But, where am I going to get sterling silver for 52 cents?

Exactly.

I worked with what I had.

DSC_0763

I measured my finger with a paper towel,

measured the spoon against it and

snipped the spoon.

DSC_0765

Papa smoothed out the rough edge for me.

DSC_0768

Papa helps smooth out a lot of my rough edges. 😉

DSC_0769

By chance we had this metal tube hanging about.

We took turns hitting the spoon against it.

This is where sterling would have been waaaaay easier to use.

But hey, a little hard work and a little while later…

DSC_0771

 

Something fun and one-of-a-kind.

Not bad for our first try!

We may do a few more of these this evening.

16 more pins to go.

4 thoughts on “Spoon Rings

    ionedar said:
    August 15, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    A new heirloom!

    Nicki said:
    August 16, 2013 at 12:11 am

    I really like this one!

    Cindy Agoncillo said:
    August 24, 2013 at 9:50 am

    If you have any extra spoons, can I order a ring from you?!

Leave a Reply

