Framed Wooden Letters

Posted on Updated on

When we first moved into our house (5 years ago), Cat’s room was the first we decorated, then 007’s, then the kitchen, living room and what we dubbed “the school room” but it took Papa and I about 4 years to even get to painting our room. Does that happen to anyone else? So, it’s no big surprise that we have nothing on our bedroom walls. No pictures, no artwork, not even a stencil.

When I saw this pin, a large frame with the letters “You & I” inside of it, I thought it would be cute, but I couldn’t find a frame at my thrift stores with enough character. Then I saw this pin that spelled out a little boy’s name with wooden letters and frames. I liked it and convinced Papa that he’d like it too. We just had to think of a good word to spell.

DSC_0559

I bought these frames on half-off Wednesday at my local thrift store.

That means I paid about a dollar and half for most of them.

I love that store. Since the start of this Pinning Summer, it’s my Wednesday hangout.

DSC_0561

I removed the staples and the glass.

DSC_0560

Papa stapled in the cheap because I got it on an awesome sale swell scrapbook paper.

He had to do it. I’m afraid of the staple gun.

DSC_0544

I spray painted the letters black.

I am not afraid of spray paint.

DSC_0546

Did you know that you can buy spray paint primer?

You probably did.

I was giddy when I found out.

DSC_0565

After we figured out that the hot glue gun wouldn’t hold the letters that well,

Papa stapled the letters into place.

I know, I know, I’ll seek help about my phobias.

DSC_0587

We’ve already discussed Papa’s need for symmetry and order,

so he volunteered (he did, I promise!) to measure out the space for the letters on a board.

DSC_0588

We only wanted two holes in the wall.

The plan is for the letters to hang off of this piece of wood.

Do you want to see it?

DSC_0596

It’s cute and quirky and is, well, US. šŸ™‚

DSC_0594

Wow! 29 more pins to go!

2 thoughts on “Framed Wooden Letters

    ionedar said:
    August 2, 2013 at 5:41 am

    I love it! It is you!

    Amelia said:
    August 2, 2013 at 10:40 am

    it’s fantastic!

Leave a Reply

