Map Necklace!!

Posted on Updated on

This is a truly awesome pin. Like, listening to the Beatles while eating oatmeal creme pies cannot compare to how awesome and fun this pin was. AAAH!!!

For this you gotta have a clear pendant-like thing called a cabochon (it was interesting asking the cashier about it…she probably thought I couldn’t speak English) and a setting for it. You also need a chain, clasp, and a little piece of a map.

DSC_0480DSC_0482

So above are the pendant-like things that we got at Michael’s. They have two parts, a clear marble-feeling circle/oval and a backing which fits that circle/oval.

DSC_0465

Then, you cut out a little piece of the map that you want to have on your necklace. However, if you don’t want to use a map…another good idea is to look up a word in the dictionary, cut it out, and paste it on your soon-to-be necklace. Mama did that with the word “love” and it actually looked pretty awesome!

DSC_0469

DSC_0467

Next you glue the map to the marble and then the marble to the backing. Originally I was going to use superglue, however I am not exactly known for grace and gentleness in the family, so to appease my mother and make her worries of me superglueing my fingers together cease…I used a slightly less dangerous glue which Papa let me borrow.

DSC_0477DSC_0484

Finally I strung it on a chain which I have had for nearly

all of my life and it looks awesome! For those who do not know,

some day I would like to live in China, so it was fitting to put Beijing on the

necklace. Also, to the right is the one Mama made out of the dictionary

(much to my dismay, I don’t think cutting up books

is a good idea, but it does look pretty neat!)

That’s it! 37 to go!!! 😛

3 thoughts on “Map Necklace!!

    Emily said:
    July 27, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    That looks great ladies!! Mama, putting it on your bracelet looks great!! 🙂

    Top 10 From 2013: #9 | Pinning Summer said:
    June 3, 2014 at 6:17 am

    […] 9. Map Necklace […]

Leave a Reply

