Roasted Garlic Hummus

Posted on Updated on

I recently tried hummus and I really liked it. I know, I’m behind the times. It’s because I’m a picky eater. I like food that tastes good. You can tell me something is good for me, but if it tastes like it’s good for me, I might politely eat it in front of you, but then, I’ll never eat it again. (Who let me become a parent?)

When I saw this pin about making hummus, I got a can of garbanzo beans, whipped out my food processor and went to work…

I roasted garlic

DSC_0204

While the garlic was cooling, I shelled the garbanzo beans. I read in a few other hummus making blogs that it comes out creamier if you do that. It only took me a few minutes.

I squeezed the garlic into the food processor with the beans, lemon juice and a bit of kosher salt and watched it become the consistency of peanut butter.

DSC_0205

Then, I drizzled the olive oil in while it was spinning. Stopped to scrape down the sides, added some more oil and then, I tasted it.

DSC_0208

Victory! It was tastier and lighter than the store bought brand!

  DSC_0211

It was so good, in fact, that I had to take it away from Cat (hummus lover) so that we would have some for today as well.

Over all, a great, simple, inexpensive recipe for hummus. I think I’ll try tossing in some roasted red peppers next time.

47 more to go! This is fun!!

One thought on “Roasted Garlic Hummus

    Top 10 From 2013: #6 | Pinning Summer said:
    June 6, 2014 at 6:52 am

    […]  Hummus […]

Leave a Reply

