Glass Etching

Posted on Updated on

We go to a lot of “covered dish” functions. So, when I saw that we could easily mark (and not ruin) our dishes, I was happy. Papa was happier and, truth be told, he did most of the work for this pin because he was intrigued by its simplicity. (Click on the picture to go to the original blog.)

IMG_1417

At my local craft store, there was an entire section of etching tools. Who knew?! So, I chose some reusable etching stencils (they have to be able to stick) and a small bottle of etching cream. That’s it.

We started with my Pyrex serving dish, identical to the one pictured above. We followed the directions exactly and…

It didn’t work. No marks whatsoever. I was bummed.

Then I read the small print: “may not work on some Pyrex dishes.”

I guess our was the “some”. 😦 Unhappiness abounded in our kitchen. Until…

I grabbed a class, gave it to Papa and he tried the process again. I was doubtful…

DSC_0042

DSC_0041

DSC_0050

Success!

We’re going to try some of our other Pyrex dishes. You know, just in case they are the “other” kind. πŸ˜‰

59 more pins to go…

One thought on “Glass Etching

    Emily said:
    July 3, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    If you have success with the “other” dishes, please share! Would love to see what design you put on them! This is very intriguing, and something I just might have to try. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

