Make Your Own Chalkboard Paint

Posted on Updated on

This is our first pin, so I should probably start with one that made me skeptical; one that I pinned months ago but have been scared to try. Go big or go home!

When we originally decorated Cat’s room, we ran out of wallpaper for the wall behind her door. We thought that would be a great wall to chalkboard so that Cat can write down plans, notes, song lyrics, calculus equations, etc. Chalkboard paint can be a little pricy, almost 15 dollars for 30 ounces on Amazon. So, we put the idea aside for a while because apparently chalkboard paint isn’t essential. Who knew?! Then, one day, while wasting time doing research on Pinterest, I came across this pin:

chalkboard paint mixture

It sounded good. It even sounded easy, which makes it sound better than good. (Gooder?) But the question still remained: would it work???

We had some paint left over from our last painting endeavor (the basement/movie room) so, I mixed a cup of it with a tablespoon of the un-sanded grout. A commenter from the pin said that they had trouble with the consistency of the mixture, but I think it was alright. Maybe they used a different kind of paint? All I know is that it was still paint-like, just with some grains of sand. Seemed okay to me.

Papa taped the walls for me because I hate doing that.

I painted one coat.

DSC_0020

I let it dry for about an hour and half and painted the second coat.

I let it dry for another hour and then took off the tape.

After it was completely dry, we had to “season” the wall so that the first words written were not etched in forever (etching glass, by the way, is happening on Wednesday so make sure you come back).

Word to the wise: put down a drop cloth and be prepared for a lot of chalk dust! You could maybe even wear some protective goggles. I did not think of these things. So, 007 had pink hair for the rest of the evening. I would love to say that this is an uncommon occurrence. Back to the project!

DSC_0025

We erased the seasoning and it worked!

Now, when I say that “it worked” I mean it worked for us. It’s a little bumpy but it serves it’s purpose here in Cat’s room. If I was in need of another chalkboard wall in the kitchen or the dining room or somewhere else that is seen more, then I may have sprung for the store bought stuff.

But she loves it so, I’m sold.

DSC_0029

61 to go. 😉

5 thoughts on “Make Your Own Chalkboard Paint

    Harmony said:
    July 1, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    Looks great!

    Jennie :) said:
    July 2, 2013 at 2:09 am

    I LOVE it!! When are you coming to paint mine? :)~

    Days Until Sign | Pinning Summer said:
    August 31, 2013 at 6:13 am

    […] give it a couple coats of a very fine chalkboard paint (not homemade, […]

Leave a Reply

